Weekly Tip #1

I want to add weekly tips to help disciple other designers out there who see my blog and want to learn more. This begins a new journey where I stretch myself. Instead of discovering things I’m teaching things.

This week’s tip is about simplicity. I cannot stress the importance of that one simple word. It has changed the way I design and it is my design style. I used to make complicated graphics with millions of layer effects and obscure fonts. Design is all about a message. What I used to make was just art. It used to be text effects and grungy messes. Now, I have turned my design to be a simple idea with a clear message. Even if you have a message you are trying to present, don’t cloud it up with complicated effects. That will just distract the viewer from what you are trying to tell them. Cut out the effects and present your message in a clear way. You want clean, clear design. Usually that is one-color text(90% of the time white) that stands out from the background. Most colors are fine with white text. With a photo make sure that the text does not blend in. This may call for blurring, or a different picture. You can also edit the photo to be darker but I wouldn’t suggest that method. Simple normal fonts are the best. Don’t use a bunch of “cool” fonts. Use simple fonts that look good and are easy to read. Challenge yourself to do that this week, and your design will improve.

“A designer knows he has achieved perfection not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.”

-Antoine de Saint-Exupery

One thought on “Weekly Tip #1

Tell us your thoughts.

