Jack’s Snack Shack

I got an urge to do something with a lot of typography to practice my grid ability and really improve it. Grids should constantly be used in design, even if something is not directly grid based. If design is uneven and not fitting within the grid, the design is regarded at as bad. Now yes, some design is not supposed to be grid based, but if something is, which most of my design is, you have to make sure everything is lined up and fitting within the grid. Logos a lot of the time are not grid based, and other things are just centered on the page, which doesn’t call for guides. Whenever you have a lot of type on top of each other and next to each other, use grids. You can use guides to set up your grid in Illustrator and Photoshop, and I would challenge you to use them in your designs.

Jack's-Snack-Shack

2 thoughts on “Jack’s Snack Shack

  1. This is really cool. I think the design could use more consistent line spacing though, and left aligning the last line of each section – especially where you have words like onions and pickles spread across the whole row.
    What do you think?

    Like

    1. I agree with the line spacing, but in some cases I had no choice. I thought it was more important to make sure all three columns were the same length, and so to even it out I sometimes had to change the spacing. And I see what you are saying about the paragraph styles. I thought the left alignment looked a bit better, but I wanted even rows as well. I thought about it a lot but I went with the stretched look.

      Like

Tell us your thoughts.

